7 Days In Grenada

This trip was definitely one of my highlights in 2018. I’ve never been to the Caribbean before and couldn’t wait to see where Jillian was living her best student life. Prepare for a ton of pics!

In November I took a direct flight from Frankfurt to St. George’s, Grenada. After around eight hours in the air I touched down at Maurice Bishop International Airport, where Jillian was waiting for me. Since it was already dark outside when I arrived, we just went home, had dinner and talked, talked, talked.

Day 1: Beating The Jetlag

After waking up I was so excited to see Grenada in daylight. When I stepped out of Jillian’s apartment, I was instantly hit by 30 degrees, sunshine and an awesome ocean view. Couldn’t have wished for more! Our plan for the day was taking it easy and, although my jet lag wasn’t that bad (it’s never when I arrive, but always when I go back home …), it was nice to just get some sun at the beach. Well, at least that was the plan. But since it was the end of the rain season, the weather was changing every few minutes. From 30 degrees and sunshine to pouring rain and grey skies! One second we could see the “mountains”, the other second everything was gone. But it was a fun experience and kind of refreshing.

Grand Anse Beach, Morne Rouge, Grenada

We also had lunch at Umbrella’s Beach Bar, got me a visitor’s pass at campus  and went to Dodgy Dock for dinner (wings and pizza, I know, not very Caribbean haha).

Day 2: Island Tour

Let’s start exploring! On day two our driver André took us on a private nine hours tour through the entire island. We saw waterfalls, a chocolate and a nutmeg factory, an abandoned airport and so much more. Let’s start at the port in St. George’s.

We then drove up north to check out the Annandale Waterfall, where we met this little guy. Can you tell I didn’t really like him sitting on my shoulder at first? He was way heavier than I expected!

PS: Since there were suddenly a lot of tourists I didn’t manage to take a cool pic of the waterfall itself …

On to the next waterfall: Concord Falls. Nothing too impressive but still nice.

Next stop was the nutmeg factory. Grenada is also known as the Spice Island: It’s the world’s second biggest producer of nutmeg (providing 20 % of the world supply). For 1 $ we got a quick guided tour and as I walked in I felt like I traveled back in time. The whole factory looked like from a movie scene.

Gouyave Nutmeg Processing Cooperative, Gouyave, Grenada

From one factory to another: let’s switch from nutmeg to chocolate. Did you know that when you open a fresh cocoa fruit the cocoa beans are covered in white pulp that tastes kind of citrusy? I had no clue! Well, I didn’t even know what a cocoa fruit looked like, so maybe that’s no surprise haha. Since André recommended the 60 % cocoa chocolate I got a classic one and one with extra cocoa nibs.

Diamond Chocolate Factory, Diamond, Grenada

And now off to the best view! But first we had to “hike” up this pretty steep street that almost killed us in the heat tbh haha

I think this place was called the Welcome Rock but when I typed that into Maps there weren’t any hits …

Have you ever been to an abandoned airport and inside an airplane wreck? I have and I’m still happy about the fact that I didn’t fall through the shabby floor haha

Last but not least we checked out another waterfall: Seven Sisters Waterfalls. The hike down there through the jungle was a bit muddy and slippery and I already saw us sitting in the dirt – but it was so worth it! There was no-one else, just us. We couldn’t stay for too long though because it was already getting dark. But we were able to take our pics so we were happy 😛

And that’s it for day two and the island tour. Time flew by and we were pretty exhausted afterwards. But we had a great time exploring the island from south to north. And how to better end the day than with a sundowner at the beach, right?

Laluna Boutique Beach Hotel and Villas, Portici Beach, St George's, Grenada

Day 3: Beach Time

Yup, that’s right. Another beach day. This time we went to Magazine beach. Sooo beautiful – and just how I imagined the Caribbean! So I’m not going to write a lot. Just see for yourself.

Magazine Beach, Grenada

Day 4–5: Off To Carriacou

On day four we took the ferry to Carriacou, a small island two hours from Grenada. The ferry ride was pretty scenic since we went past Grenada and some other small islands. When we arrived, we quickly went to our Airbnb, had lunch at the beach and then organised a water taxi from Paradise Beach to Sandy Island. And omg, prepare for one of the prettiest places ever!

At first we thought we’d be the only ones on the whole island. Then we discovered some guys preparing a lobster bbq for the night. We had a little chat, they showed us their shark (yes, they had a shark …) and we found the perfect little spot for tanning. We watched pelicans, I saw a manta ray and we enjoyed having the beach – or the whole island – mostly to ourselves. Sandy Island is honestly one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been to. This pics don’t do it justice at all!

We told the water taxi guy that he could pick us up right before sunset. When he did, we had dinner at a beach bar. I had the catch of the day – yum!

The next day we checked out another beach. And again, we had it all to ourselves.

Day 6: Cruisin’

As I’m writing this I’m feeling sad all over again for this being my last full day in Grenada. We made the most of those seven days and somehow it feels longer than a week but at the same time as if I’ve been there for just a second. And when I think back to tell you what my highlights of this trip were … I honestly can’t tell. The beach days, tanning and enjoying the sun and the salty ocean water on my skin, hiking through the jungle discovering waterfalls, having whole Sandy Island for us in Carriacou, seeing a shark and manta ray … Or going on a cruise to see the Dingy Boat Concert and watch the sunset. All with one of my best friends! I really don’t know.

Day 7: Saying Goodbye

On my last day we went to have breakfast and then went to Grand Anse Beach again. Trying not to think about me flying back to Germany in a few hours.

I know, Grenada is not the first island that comes to your mind when planning to go to the Caribbean, but I loved how it was not too touristy (except when the big cruise ships arrived), especially Carriacou! I feel that it’s still a pretty “unique” trip for Europeans and not as “basic” as some other destinations. I can only recommend going there and to maybe do some island hopping.

Hope you liked the post and didn’t give up reading halfway through haha

 

See more:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star